Optavia as an antidote to the COVID “15”

September 2020. I am updating my weight-journey journal, because sharing my Optavia experiences seems to be helpful to people. After my 2017 Optavia posts on this blog, I moved into a maintenance phase: more or less, I had 2-3 Optavia fuelings a day, eating a light lunch and healthy(ish) dinner, which lasted about two years. My weight stayed close to 153-155. I kept in casual touch with my coach, Craig.

I think I note, in a response elsewhere on this blog, that I found myself gaining weight again earlier this year (2020) after my husband unexpectedly passed away; I sold and moved away from our home of 40 years (and moved into the cutest little city house), and then, COVID. After sitting around and indulging myself with any comfort food I desired for the first 10 weeks of the pandemic (and quickly gaining 10 lbs), in May, I restarted a regular relationship with Optavia and my coach Craig. For the past 3 1/2 months I’ve doing what I call the “5 and 1-ish”: because I work out so much, I wanted more calories, so I’m following caloric-restriction diet in the new edition of HOH (similar to the “4 and 2”).

As a result of living alone, scant social activities and working remotely during the pandemic, most of the social triggers to eat poorly simply don’t exist (no friends, family, or work-related food treats or events). Since starting back on Optavia, I don’t buy junk food at the store at my weekly shoppings; if I get cravings in the middle of the week, I’m simply too lazy to go out and buy junk food. So, environmental triggers to eat poorly are just not a factor–I don’t have unhealthy food in my environment. Using the new edition of Dr. A’s HOH and the Lifebook, I’ve started practicing the “Stop Challenge Choose” when I start to pine for unhealthy snacking, which makes me reflect on why do I want to eat that thing? (Am I hungry? Or have I been triggered by something?) (For example, I have realized that most of my “emotional” eating is actually a signal that I’m pooped out and just need to go to bed).

On top of that, Craig has been running Zoom workouts 3 X a week since March. These have been an amazing source of motivation and fitness-building. (I walk or jog or do Zoom weight training sessions other days). I have lost 26 lbs (so far), and I am now at the weight I weighed at 14; the lowest in my adult life. I need new, smaller clothes (again); I can run longer and more days because my knees feel great!; I can get up from the floor without using my hands; I can see the muscles in my thighs ripple.

If you’ve done Optavia, none of this information is news to you. And if you haven’t done Optavia, it all probably sounds simplistic or simple-minded. Nothing I’ve said is deep, subtle, complex, or ground-breaking, or

I don’t mean to sound like an advertisement for Optavia. REALLY. I would have to say my next goal is to learn how to keep a healthy weight “without” Optavia, by eating primarily whole foods (not bars, shakes, and supplements), though I will probably keep some fuelings around for moments when I need a quick snack or meal replacement. Optavia is not a miracle, but it has been a very effective tool and strategy for change, and I am really starting the feel like I’ve created a new and healthy relationship with myself and my health.

3 thoughts on “Optavia as an antidote to the COVID “15”

  1. Hello! Found your blog looking for tips about starting Optavia. I only want to lose 20 pounds, maybe 30 at the most, but I do heavy weight lifting 4 days per week and some cardio and low intensity exercise like walking. I am thinking of doing the 4+2+1 but still waiting to have an intro call with my friend (new coach) and *HER* coach to confirm.

    I’m really interested in fitness and healthy lifestyles, but right now I just really need some structure! It’s been tough for me to stick to healthy choices while working from home and I’ve been trying keto but I think I’m still eating too many calories. How did you find your coach Craig? He sounds like someone I’d be interested in chatting with.

    Like

    1. Nicole,
      let me talk to Craig and see what he advises. If I haven’t already said this, he is a former Olympic medalist, and he understands all about wanting to be able to train and have peak performance. I did not do keto or the 5 and 1 (which is moderately keto) this past summer, but I did the 4-2-1 mostly and ate @80-100 grams protein, @100 grams of carbs, and ate about 1400 calories a day–sometimes more if I had an extra hard day. I will see if he’s okay with my setting you two up together.

      Like

    2. Hi Nicole–I talked with my coach. He suggested that the 3 of us meet online to talk about your goals. I know that it has been very helpful to me to work with someone who is athletic, and understands the metabolic/caloric needs of someone who works out regularly and hard. Please let me know if you’re interested in this connection–

      Like

Leave a comment